3 Jaguars make all-league football list
by TP staff
Dec 07, 2012 | 3553 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Three players from Kimball High’s varsity football team made the all-Valley Oak League first team for 2012.

Senior quarterback Zack Johnson shared first-team quarterback honors with Oakdale senior Spencer Thomas. Johnson averaged 175.3 yards per game over seven VOL contests, making him the league’s leading passer.

Senior Evan Owens, meanwhile, was named first-team running back. He ran for 830 yards over the 10-game season, averaging 92.2 yards per game and 11.5 yards per carry. Owens’ 742 yards during VOL play made him the second-leading rusher in the league.

Rounding out the top honors for the Jaguars is senior Logan Finley, who is first-team tight end. He averaged 19 yards per game as a receiver during the season.

Second-team players for Kimball included senior wide receiver Charles Walker, junior wide receiver Damon Jackson, senior offensive lineman Nate Pearlman, junior offensive lineman Zach Orr, senior linebacker Alex Toledo and senior defensive lineman Aaron Freschi.

Kimball players to earn honorable mentions were Matthew Cooper, Christian Lopez, Austin Griffith, William Snell, Trae James, Corbin Lis, Issa Yusuf, Andre Fairley, Josh Searle, Steven Mendoza and Chandler Alves.

Sac-Joaquin Section Division III champion and VOL champion Oakdale led the all-VOL list with 14 first-team players, plus league MVP Nik Ryan, outstanding defensive player Miko Arpoika and coach of the year Trent Merzon.

• Contact Bob Brownne at 830-4227 or brownne@tracypress.com.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage readers to share online comments in this forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a space for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Comments that stray from the topic of the story or are found to contain abusive language are subject to removal at the Press’ discretion, and the writer responsible will be subject to being blocked from making further comments and have their past comments deleted. Readers may report inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at tpnews@tracypress.com.