Local group recognizes leadership
by TP staff
Apr 24, 2013 | 1874 views | 0 0 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Community leadership and academic achievement will be recognized Saturday, April 27, by the Tracy Hispanic Business Group.

The group’s 10th annual Latino Leadership and Scholarship Awards Dinner will begin at 6 p.m. at the Tracy Community Center, 400 E. 10th St.

Tickets are $35, and must be purchased in advance of the event Saturday from the Tracy Chamber of Commerce office, 223 E 10th St. The office closes daily at 5 p.m.

Sam Aranda, chairman of the Tracy Hispanic Business Group, and Sophia Valenzuela, president of the Tracy Chamber of Commerce, will serve as masters of ceremony.

Community leadership awards will be presented in several fields:

• Education — Gloria Ramirez

• Sports and Athletics — Tracy Soccer Club

• Business — Versailles Salon and Day Spa

• Inspirational — Grace Paget

• Community Service — Matt Palomino

• Organization — South Side Community Organization

It will be announced that scholarships of $500 each are awarded to 13 high school students from the Tracy area:

• Athletics — Joshua Zavala and Daniel Gallegos

• Academics — Inez Chavarria and Lisa Lau

• Community service — AnnMarie Mendez and Karina Rojas

• El Futuro — Mahely Cruz and Leslie Bernal

• Health and science — Anjali Naicher and Alejandra Zaragoza

• Visual and performing arts — Natalie Solveson and Sandro Canesco

• Vocational — Byron Munoz

For information: Sophia Valenzuela, 835-2131.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage readers to share online comments in this forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a space for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Comments that stray from the topic of the story or are found to contain abusive language are subject to removal at the Press’ discretion, and the writer responsible will be subject to being blocked from making further comments and have their past comments deleted. Readers may report inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at tpnews@tracypress.com.